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INFORMATION FOR FILING AND DEFENDING A SMALL CLAIMS CASE IN JUSTICE COURT 

 
Small Claims: The small claims process provides an expedited and less formal means to 
resolve civil disputes for money damages up to $3,500. Small claims cases do not have the right 
to appeal, and jury trials are not allowed. A small claims case will be heard by a small claims 
hearing officer or a Justice of the Peace. Amended complaints are not allowed in small claims. 

You may not file in small claims if: 
• The case is an action for defamation by libel or slander. 
• The case is an action in forcible entry, forcible detainer, or unlawful detainer. 
• The case is an action for specific performance. 
• The case is brough or defended on behalf of a class. 
• The case is an action requesting or involving prejudgment remedies. 
• The case is an action seeking injunctive relief. 
• The case is a traffic violation or a criminal matter. 
• The case is an action against this State, its political subdivisions, or its officers or 

employees acting in an official capacity (A.R.S §2 2 - 503( B). 

Representation: Attorney representation is not allowed in small claims, unless both parties 
agree, in writing, to the use of attorneys. 

Authorization: If you are representing a partnership, an association or any other organization, a 
Notice of Authorization to Appear shall be filed with the court indicating your position and 
authority to represent an action on behalf of the partnership, association or organization. The 
notice must be signed by someone who has authority to appoint (A.R.S. 22-512). 

Legal Advice: Court staff is not allowed to provide legal advice. You must follow the Arizona 
Revised Statutes and Rules of Procedure for Small Claims Cases that apply in your lawsuit. The 
statutes and rules are available in many public libraries and at the courthouse. The statutes are 
also online at www.azleg.gov/arstitle/ and the rules are online at 
https://govt.westlaw.com/azrules/. For legal advice, you may contact Southern Arizona Legal Aid, 
Inc. or Pima County Bar Association. 

Clerk Role: The clerks in the Justice Court are not attorneys and cannot give legal advice. The 
clerks’ responsibility is to take your court filing and to provide forms and explain court procedures. 
It is not the clerks’ responsibility to advise you if you have a legal claim. The clerk is not 
responsible for any error you may make in asserting or defending the claim. The court clerks do 
not take sides or render an opinion regarding the merits of a claim 

 
Venue: The Plaintiff may file where the defendant resides or does business or where 
the cause of the lawsuit occurred (A.R.S. 22-202). 

 
Change of Venue: The defendant may object to the place where the lawsuit has been 
filed. 

 
Precinct: New case filings must identify in the caption the Justice of the Peace precinct in which 
the case should be filed, as set forth in Title 22, Chapter 5. Precinct information can be obtained 

 

http://www.azleg.gov/arstitle/
https://govt.westlaw.com/azrules/
http://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=22
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on the Pima County Recorders website: 
https://www.recorder.pima.gov/VoterStats/PrecinctDistrictSearch or scan the QR code below on 
your mobile device. 

Jurisdictional Limit: $3,500.00 not including interest and court costs. If you wish to file a 
lawsuit for an amount over $3,500, but less than $10,000, you may file a civil lawsuit in the 
justice court civil division. If you wish to sue for more than $10,000, you must file your lawsuit in 
the Superior Court. 

 
Parties: Persons in a lawsuit are called “parties.” There is a “plaintiff” and a “defendant”. 
A “plaintiff” is someone who files a lawsuit against a “defendant”. 

Named Parties: Every lawsuit shall be prosecuted in the name of the real party. You must have 
named the correct party. Refer to the HOW TO DESIGNATE AND SERVE A PARTY handout. 

INDIVIDUALS: All individuals need to be named in the lawsuit. 
CORPORATIONS: A corporation is required to maintain a statutory agent upon who process 
(court papers) may be served. 
UNINCORPORATED BUSINESSES When filing on behalf of, or against an unincorporated 
business, the true name or names of the party doing business under that business name be 
shown as the plaintiff or defendant. 
PARTNERSHIPS A partnership may sue, or be sued, in the name that it has assumed or by 
which it is known. A partner may appear and represent his own partnership interest. 

Filing Fees: You will be required to pay a filing fee when submitting your case to the court. If 
you cannot afford the filing fee you may apply for a Fee Waiver or Deferral at the court. You will 
not be able to file your case on-line if you are unable to pay the fee. 
Service of Complaint and Summons: Each named defendant must be served a copy of the 
complaint, summons and “Notice to Plaintiff and defendant” within 45 calendar days or your 
case may be dismissed. Service must be accomplished by certified mail, a constable or private 
process server. Proof of service must be filed with the court. 

Service After Appearance of All Parties: All pleadings after service of the summons and 
complaint may be served by regular firs class mail. 

Transfer to Civil Division: Either party may request a transfer of the lawsuit from the Small 
Claims Division to the regular Civil Division of the Justice Court up to 10 days prior to the 
hearing. A transfer will allow: 

• Either party to have an attorney; 
• The defendant to file a counterclaim for more than $3,500; 
• Either party to file motions that are not permitted in small claims lawsuits; 
• Parties to have a jury trial; and 
• A party to have the right to appeal. 

 
Default Judgment: If the defendant(s) fail to file an answer within the specified time a default 
judgment may be filed. You must still provide evidence to support your claim 

Dismissal: If the parties settles, they must file a voluntary or stipulated dismissal. 
Voluntary: The plaintiff may dismiss the claim at any time before the defendant files an answer or 
other pleading. 
Stipulated: Once the defendant has filed an answer or other pleading, both parties must sign the 
agreement of dismissal. 

Filing an Answer: An answer is the defendant's response to the plaintiff's allegations as stated 
in a complaint. 

• The defendant has twenty (20) calendar days from the date of service to file a written 
answer with the Court and mail copy to plaintiff. 

• If the complaint is served out-of-state the party served has thirty (30) calendar days to file 
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an answer. 
• If the last day falls on a Saturday, a Sunday, or a legal holiday, the answer may be filed 

on the next business day. 
 

Filing a Counterclaim: A counterclaim is a claim made by the defendant against the plaintiff 
within the same lawsuit. 

• A counterclaim is filed at the time of filing the answer. 
• The plaintiff (counter-defendant) has twenty (20) days from the date of service in which 

to file a written reply. Note: no fee. 
• If the counterclaim exceeds $3,500.00 the case will be transferred to the civil division. 
• Amended counterclaims are not allowed. 

Reply to Counterclaim: The plaintiff has 20 calendar days from the date of service to 
file a reply to the counterclaim with the court and mail a copy to the defendant. Note: 
no fee. 

 
Motions: A motion is made by either party asking the court to issue a ruling or an order. There 
are only two motions allowed in Small Claims: Motion for Change of Venue and a Motion to 
Vacate Judgment. 

• The opposing party may file a written response with the court within ten (10) business 
days from the date the motion was served. 

• The moving party may file a Reply to the Response within five (5) business days from 
receiving the Response. 

• All motions, replies, and responses must be served on the opposing party. 
• The Judge will consider the motion and any objections and enter an order. The Court 

may schedule a hearing before rendering an order. 

How to Compute Time Limits: 
• If it happened today, today does not count. Tomorrow is day 1. 
• Business days: ten (10) days or less, weekends and legal holidays are not counted. 
• Calendar days: eleven (11) days or more, weekends and legal holidays are counted. 
• If a court document is served by mail or electronic means, five (5) calendar days shall be added. 

 
Hearing Officer: A Justice of the Peace or a hearing officer will hear your case. Either party 
may request that a Justice of the Peace, rather than a hearing officer, to decide the lawsuit. The 
request must be made in writing at least 15 days before the hearing, and the case will be 
referred to and heard by the Justice of the Peace. 

 
Hearing: The court will set a hearing within 60 days from the date the defendant’s answer is filed. 
All parties will be notified and must appear at all scheduled hearing and provide supporting 
evidence for their claims and defenses. If you fail to appear at a hearing, the court may enter a 
judgment against you. 

 
Continuance: Either party may request a continuance in writing for good cause at least 
15 days before the hearing date. 

Judgment Awarded: A judgment is valid for 10 years from the date it is entered. 
 

Appeal: Parties do not have the right to appeal. The decision of the hearing officer or justice 
of the peace in a small claims case is final and binding on both parties. If you wish to preserve 
your right to appeal, you must have the case transferred to the Civil Division of the justice 
court. You may do this at any time up to 10 business days before a hearing. 
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Collection of a Money Judgment: A judgment is not self-collecting. If you are awarded a 
money judgment, it is your responsibility to legally collect from the debtor. Refer to the court’s 
handout Collecting a Money Judgment. 

 
Satisfaction of Judgment: When a judgment is paid in full, a satisfaction of judgment must be 
filed with the court. This form is available through the court on-line or in person. 

 
Change of Address: You must keep the court informed of your current address and 
telephone number until the lawsuit is over. 
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PLAINTIFF CHECKLIST 

Date COMPLAINT filed and filing fee paid   
 

Date SUMMONS and COMPLAINT given to process 
server for service on defendant(s)   

Date COMPLAINT served   
 

Date time to ANSWER expires   
(twenty (20) days after defendant served / thirty (30) 
days if served out-of-state) 

 
IF ANSWER IS RECEIVED: 

Date defendant files an ANSWER   
 
 

 
IF NO ANSWER IS RECEIVED: 

APPLICATION FOR ENTRY OF DEFAULT filed with 
court and copy mailed to defendant   

NOTICE to PARTY filing for Default: 
Anytime after ten (10) judicial days have passed since the 
filing of this Application, it is your responsibility to file a 
Request for Entry of Default Judgment or request a hearing. 
Statement of Cost and proof of the claim (receipts, contract, 
etc.) must also be served upon all the parties in this lawsuit. 

Date time to REPLY TO COUNTERCLAIM expires 

If the defendant files a counterclaim YOU must file a 
reply to the counterclaim within twenty (20) calendar days. 
If you fail to file a reply, the defendant may obtain a default 
judgment against you. 

DEFENDANT CHECKLIST 

If you object to the venue (the precinct in which the 
complaint was filed) you must file a Motion for Change of 
Venue for Improper Venus before the answer is filed. 

 
Date answer filed and filing fee paid   
(Within twenty (20) calendar days of the date you were 
served / thirty (30) days if served out-of-state) 

 
If you fail to file an answer, the plaintiff may 

obtain a default judgment against you. 

Date COUNTERCLAIM filed and copy mailed to plaintiff 
 

 
If you intend to file a counterclaim you must do so at the 
same time the Answer is filed. You must use the proper 
form and mail a copy to the plaintiff. 

 
Date time to REPLY expires    

Date plaintiff files a REPLY   

IF NO REPLY TO COUNTERCLAIM IS RECEIVED: 

APPLICATION FOR ENTRY OF DEFAULT filed with court 
and copy mailed to plaintiff   

NOTICE to PARTY filing for Default: 
Anytime after ten (10) business days have passed since the 

filing of this Application, it is your responsibility to file a 
Request for Entry of Default Judgment or request a hearing. 
Statement of Cost and proof of the claim (receipts, contract, 
etc.) must also be served upon all the parties in this lawsuit. 

 

The following checklist may assist you in processing your case. 
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HOW TO DESIGNATE AND SERVE A PARTY 

 

AN INDIVIDUAL 
JOHN JONES 

1234 S. Main Street 
Tucson, AZ 85040 

SERVE: The party must be served with a copy of 
the summons and complaint. 

HUSBAND AND WIFE 
JOHN AND MARYJONES, HUSBAND AND WIFE 

1234 S. Main Street Tucson, AZ 85040 
SERVE: Each spouse must be served a copy of the 
summons and complaint. One spouse may be 
served with the other spouse's copies if they reside 
at the same residence. 

 
TWO OR MORE DEFENDANTS SERVE: Each named defendant must be 

JOHN SMITH 
1234 S. Main Street 
Tucson, AZ 85040 

MARY JONES 
1000 E. First Street 
Tucson, AZ 85040 

served a copy of the summons and complaint. 

 
 

WHEN THE NAME OF THE DEFENDANT IS UNKNOWN: 
CIVIL - (Claims up to $10,000) 

JANE DOE, JOHN DOE, XYZ Corporation 
Upon service, when the defendant's true name is 
discovered, the pleadings may be amended to 
reflect the true name. 

SMALL CLAIMS - (Claims less than $3,500) 

Per Rules of Small Claims Procedure: A plaintiff 
must use the party's correct legal name when 
filing a lawsuit. Each defendant must be sued by 
the correct legal name. 

 

SOLE OWNERSHIP 
John Jones, Dba 

Jones' Delicious Candy Shoppe 
1234 S. Main Street 
Tucson, AZ 85040 

PARTNERSHIP 
JOHN SMITH and JOE JONES, Partners 

Dba JJ's Cafe 
1000 E. First Street 
Tucson, AZ 85040 

SERVE: The Owner SERVE either: 
1. A Partner 
2. A Managing or general agent 
3. An Agent authorized by appointment 

CORPORATION  LLC COMPANY 
UNINCORPORATED ASSOCIATION 

ABC Candy Store, Inc. 
1234 S. Main Street 
Tucson, AZ 85040 

SERVE: Statutory Agent, as follows: 
John Jones, Statutory Agent 

5678 N. Eezee St. 
Tucson, AZ 85040 

If serving a statutory agent, you must mail a copy to 
the party on whose behalf the agent received service. 
Service may also be effected upon: 

1. An Officer of the corporation - President, 
Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer 
2. A Managing or general agent 
3. An Agent authorized by appointment or law 
CORPORATION COMMISSION: To determine 
Statutory Agent for a business or corporation contact: 
State of Arizona Corporation Commission 400 W. 
Congress, Tucson, AZ 85701 Phone: (602) 542-3026 
Website: www.azcc.gov 

PARENTS OF A MINOR 
 

If the minor is under 16 years of age, 
SERVE: The Minor and the parent or guardian 
John and Mary Jones, husband and wife 
Parents of Johnny Jones, a minor 

1234 S. Main Street 
Tucson, AZ 85040 

 
If the minor is 16 years of age or more, 
SERVE: The Minor 

SERVING THE DIRECTOR OF INSURANCE 
 

SERVE: The Statutory Agent 
If the statutory agent is the DIRECTOR OF INSURANCE 
SERVE: The DIRECTOR OF INSURANCE 

400 W. Congress #152 
Tucson, AZ 85701 

SERVING THE REGISTRAR OF CONTRACTORS 
SERVE: Registrar's Legal Officer and the Bonding 
company must be named as a defendant and served. 
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Pima County Consolidated Justice Court 
Precinct #:     01,     02,     04,     06,     08,     09, or     10  (Select one) 

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171 

CASE NUMBER: 

Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone Defendant(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone 

SMALL CLAIMS COMPLAINT 

THERE ARE NO APPEALS IN SMALL CLAIMS CASES. 
WARNING: You do not have the right to appeal the decision of the hearing officer or the justice of the peace in a small 
claims court. If you wish to preserve your right to appeal, you may have your case transferred to the justice court 
pursuant to § 22-504, subsection A, Arizona Revised Statutes, if you request such transfer at least ten (10) days prior to 
the day of the scheduled hearing. 

PLAINTIFF'S CLAIM 

$ is the total amount owed me by defendant because: 

Date: 
Plaintiff (Print name) Plaintiff (Signature) 

NOTICE: If you are representing a corporation, partnership, association, or other organization, you must attach a notice of authorization. 

Interpreter:  Yes, I need interpreter services. Language:  
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Pima County Consolidated Justice Court 
Precinct #:     01,     02,     04,     06,     08,     09, or     10  (Select one) 

240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171 
 

CASE NUMBER: 

 

 

 

 
Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone Defendant's Name / Address / Email / Phone 

 
 

 

SMALL CLAIMS SUMMONS 

The Statutory Agent / Corporate Officer to be served is: 

Replacement 

 
 

 
 
 

( ) - 
 

Name / Address / Email / Phone 
 
 

TO THE ABOVE-NAMED DEFENDANT: The above-named plaintiff(s) has sued you in small claims 
court. You are summoned to appear and defend. You must file with this court a written answer to 
the complaint within twenty (20) days after service and deliver a copy to the plaintiff. If you do not file 
an answer, judgment may be entered against you for the full amount of the plaintiff's claim, plus the 
plaintiff's court costs. You must pay a fee to the court to file an answer, although you may request a 
waiver or deferral. 

 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE: A separate Summons must be issued and served to each defendant named in the complaint. 
 
 
 

 
Date:         

Clerk   Seal 
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Pima County Consolidated Justice Court 
240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171 

 
CASE NUMBER: 

 
Defendant Name 

 

 
Defendant Name 

 
Defendant Name 

 
 

Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone Defendant Name 
 

The Statutory Agent / Corporate Officer to be served is:   
 

NOTICE OF AUTHORIZATION TO APPEAR 
 

 
If you are representing a partnership, an association or any other organization, please provide this notice to the court 
indicating your position and authority to represent an action on behalf of the partnership, association or organization. This 
letter must be signed by someone who has authority to appoint, such as the president of your organization. 

 
The lawsuit will not go forward without the written authorization. (A.R.S. 22-512) 

 
1. List the name, address and position of the person appearing: 

Name:   

Address:   

City, State, Zip Code:   

Job Title or relationship to the defendant or plaintiff you want to appear for: 

 

2. Who are you appearing for? 

 A defendant in this case (name):   

 A plaintiff in this case (name):   
3. Tell us about the defendant or plaintiff you are appearing for: 

I am appearing for a (check one) 
Corporation and I am an employee, officer, or director of that corporation. 
Partnership and I am an employee, officer, director or partner of that partnership. 
Other business (not a corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship) and I am an employee, officer, or director of that 
business. 

 Government agency or other public entity and I am an employee, officer, or director of that agency or entity. 

 Sole proprietorship and I am an employee of that business. I am qualified to testify about business record made in the 
regular court of business at or near the time of the event. 

 Association created to manage a common interest development and I am an agent, management company representative 
or bookkeeper for that association. 

 Husband or wife and my spouse and I are both listed on this claim and agree that either spouse can appear for the other. 

 Other (explain):   
 

4. I declare under penalty of perjury that the information above is true and correct. 
 

Date:   
 

Signature:   
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ATTACH 

GREEN CARD 
HERE 

Pima County Consolidated Justice Court 
240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171 

 
CASE NUMBER: 

 

 

 

 
Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone Defendant(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone 

 
SMALL CLAIMS PROOF OF SERVICE BY REGISTERED OR CERTIFIED MAIL 

 

A copy of the summons, complaint, and Notice to the Plaintiff and Defendant in this action was served 
by registered or certified mail to the above-named defendant. 

 
 The return receipt is attached (green card or return receipt printed from the postal or delivery service website). 

 
The date of service is: 

 The date of delivery, as shown on the attached return receipt. 
 

 The date the return receipt is filed with the court because the date of delivery was not entered or the 
date is illegible. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FOR COURT USE ONLY 
Received On:   Clerk:   
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I CERTIFY that a copy of this document will be provided by (circle one) hand-delivery/ first-class mail/ electronic means on  
to: Plaintiff 

Date 
Any other named defendants 

By: Date: 
Defendant Signature 

Pima County Consolidated Justice Court 
240 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (520) 724-3171 

CASE NUMBER: 

Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Email / Phone Defendant's Name / Address / Email / Phone 

SMALL CLAIMS ANSWER 

THERE ARE NO APPEALS IN SMALL CLAIMS CASES. 
WARNING: You do not have the right to appeal the decision of the hearing officer or the justice of the peace in a small 
claims court. If you wish to preserve your right to appeal, you may have your case transferred to the justice court pursuant to 
§ 22-504, subsection A, Arizona Revised Statutes, if you request such transfer at least ten (10) days prior to the day of the
scheduled hearing.

DEFENDANT'S ANSWER 
You must file with this court a written answer to the complaint within twenty (20) days after service and deliver a copy to the 
plaintiff. If you do not file an answer, judgment may be entered against you for the full amount of the plaintiff's claim, plus the 
plaintiff's court costs. You must pay a fee to the court to file an answer, although you may request a waiver or deferral. The 
court will schedule a hearing date and hold a hearing within sixty (60) days after you file your answer. 

I am answering on behalf of Myself Marital Community Other: 

I do not owe plaintiff because: 

Date: 
Defendant (Print Name) Defendant (Signature) 

NOTICE: If you are representing a corporation, partnership, association, or other organization, you must attach a letter of 
authorization. 
Interpreter:  Yes, I need interpreter services. Language:  
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READ THIS NOTICE CAREFULLY 
Notice to Plaintiff and Defendant: A small claims lawsuit has been filed in justice court. 

• A small claims lawsuit is an informal way to resolve civil disputes that are $3,500 or less. 
• Parties in a lawsuit are called “plaintiff” and “defendant.” Plaintiffs start a lawsuit by filing a complaint 

against defendants. 
• PLAINTIFF: A lawsuit against the defendant cannot proceed without proper service as described in the 

Arizona Rules of Small Claims Procedure. When you file your complaint, the court will provide you with a 
summons and a copy of this notice that you must serve on each defendant along with the complaint. You 
must file proof of service within 45 calendar days, or your case may be dismissed. If proof of service is not 
timely filed or your case is not concluded within 65 days of the date the defendant was served, the court 
may dismiss your case unless it finds a good reason not to. 

• DEFENDANT: You must file a written answer and mail a copy to the plaintiff. Otherwise, judgment may 
be entered against you. If you have a claim against the plaintiff, even if it is based on a different event 
than described in the complaint, you may file a counterclaim and must mail a copy to the plaintiff. 

• BOTH PARTIES: You must provide supporting evidence for your claims and defenses and must appear 
at all scheduled hearings or alternative dispute resolution conferences. 

• A justice of the peace or a hearing officer with specialized training will conduct the hearing. You should 
be prepared to clearly present your evidence. Although you may be permitted to appear telephonically if 
needed, you must submit all evidence to the court before the hearing. If you fail to appear at a hearing, 
the court may enter a judgment against you. To ensure that you receive these notices, you must keep the 
court informed, in writing, of your current address and telephone number until the lawsuit is over. 

• You must follow the Arizona Revised Statutes and Arizona Rules of Small Claims Procedure that apply in 
your lawsuit. The statutes and rules are available in many public libraries and at the courthouse. The 
statutes are also online at the Arizona State Legislature webpage, and the rules are online at the Arizona 
Judicial Branch Court Rules webpage. 

• You must properly complete court papers and file them when they are due. Blank forms are on the 
Arizona Judicial Branch website and available from any justice court. 

 
• Some filings require a filing fee. Parties can request a fee waiver or deferral from the court but must still 

file documents on time. 
• Court staff cannot give legal advice but can provide information about jurisdiction, venue, pleadings, and 

procedures for the small claims division of the justice court. 
• There are no attorneys in a small claims lawsuit unless the parties agree in writing. Individuals 

usually represent themselves. One spouse may represent both spouses. A full-time corporate officer or 
authorized employee may represent a corporation; an active general partner or an authorized full-time 
employee may represent a partnership; an active member or an authorized full-time employee may 
represent an association; and any other organization may be represented by one of its active members or 
authorized full-time employees. 

• Parties cannot appeal a small claims judgment. Parties may request to transfer the lawsuit from small 
claims to the regular civil division of the justice court. A transfer will allow: 

- Attorney representation without written agreement; 
- Counterclaims for more than $3,500; 
- Motions that are not permitted in small claims lawsuits; 
- A jury trial; and 
- An appeal. 

http://www.azleg.gov/arsDetail/?title=22
http://www.azcourts.gov/rules
http://www.azcourts.gov/rules
https://www.azcourts.gov/selfservicecenter/Small-Claims
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